• Hi, Guest!
    Some images might be missing as we move away from using embedded images, sorry for the mess!
    From now on, you'll be required to use a third party to host images. You can learn how to add images here, and if your thread is missing images you can request them here.
    Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly!
[v20.1\v21.1] Arcky's Region Map

Resource [v20.1\v21.1] Arcky's Region Map v2.6.3

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

Mark Unvisited Locations with ??? or any text you want.

New Setting:
Suggested by @REALMUGEN: you can now have the name of a Location be replaced with "???" or whatever text you want as long as this Game Map hasn't been visited yet.
IMPORTANT: It is very important that the Game Map and the Point name is named exactly the same or it'll not work, it won't crash your game but instead it'll still show the point's name.
You can...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

REALMUGEN

Trainer
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Posts
69
Works very well @Arcky ! Thank you very much!

One particular note. When using the editor townmapgen v21.1 by default appends "" to the location names. That will immediately generate differences in the names in map_metadata (which usually go without quotes). Just remove the quotes in the content of the town_map.txt and it will works perfectly :)
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Works very well @Arcky ! Thank you very much!

One particular note. When using the editor townmapgen v21.1 by default appends "" to the location names. That will immediately generate differences in the names in map_metadata (which usually go without quotes). Just remove the quotes in the content of the town_map.txt and it will works perfectly :)
Glad to hear that :)
And I'm aware of the issues with townmapgen it's a bit broken but it still does it's purpose. I'll try my best to improve it in the future
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

New Feature: Improved Mode Switching.

New stuff:
  • Added a new Feature to change between modes in style.
    • The "Button: Change Mode" text is displayed in a mode preview window. It will dissapear when previewing a quest.
    • 2 or less modes will change mode directly.
    • 3 or 4 modes (4 is max for now) will give you a choice menu to change mode. You can go from mode 0 (normal map) to mode 3 (berry map) instead of having to...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

Map Mode Changing Improvements

Improvements:

  • When there's only 1 mode available, it won't show the button preview window and also won't play the sound when pressing the button to change mode.
  • When using Fly, the text and button to activate quick fly will be shown on the top right
New Setting:
You can now choose when you have 3 or more modes to either have the choice menu or have the mode change by pressing the set button each time

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

New customization options and Improvements

Improvements:
  • The Quest Preview Box size will change depending on the length of the Task and Location text. (According to the UI of the Modern Quest System, you're limited in text length for the Task and Location either way. This means that both should never exceed the limit for this plugin as well.
    • Minimum of 2 lines.
    • Maximum of 4 lines.
  • The Text and Button Preview Box will not be hidden when the Quest Preview is active if the Position set for...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

Bug fixes and improvements

New (Small) Feature:
  • When the cursor is moved behind the Button Preview Box, it'll now go transparent so you can see the Cursor again.
Bug fixes:
  • Fixed an issue with the script not using the Unvisited Map exception Image names.
  • Fixed an issue with Locations that have "Small" included in their name.
  • Fixed an issue with the game crashing when using Quick Fly.
  • Fixed an issue with the setting to change the...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Nezzy

The Dreamcatcher
Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2023
Posts
2
I wrote in the main script compatibility with FL's Roaming Icon plugin with the fourth mode with new functions called "draw_roaming_position_compat(@mapIndex)" and "addRoaming(icon_index)". (Sorry, I was impatient, haha). This is for the version before your most recent one since I haven't updated yet, but for 20.1, here it goes! (NOTE: His plugin MUST be installed since I didn't add any conditions for when it's not installed since I rushed. Sorry if the code's a little messy!)

Add "draw_roaming_position_compat(@mapIndex)" below "refreshFlyScreen" in def switchMapMode
Preeeeetty sure I copied and pasted these correctly, but if I didn't, let me know!

Ruby:
def draw_roaming_position_compat(mapindex)
    icon_index = 0
    for roam_pos in $PokemonGlobal.roamPosition
      active = $game_switches[Settings::ROAMING_SPECIES[roam_pos[0]][2]] && (
        $PokemonGlobal.roamPokemon.size <= roam_pos[0] ||
        $PokemonGlobal.roamPokemon[roam_pos[0]]!=true
      )
      next if !active
      roam_town_map_pos = GameData::MapMetadata.try_get(roam_pos[1])&.town_map_position
      next if mapindex!=roam_town_map_pos[0]
      x = roam_town_map_pos[1]
      y = roam_town_map_pos[2]

      addRoaming(icon_index)
      pbDrawImagePositions(
          @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].bitmap,
          [[get_roaming_icon(Settings::ROAMING_SPECIES[roam_pos[0]][0]), (x * SQUARE_WIDTH) - 8 , (y * SQUARE_HEIGHT) - 8]]
        )
     @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].visible = @mode == 4
     @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].bitmap.clear if @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"] && @mode != 4
    
     icon_index+=1
    
    end
  end

 def addRoaming(icon_index)
    return if @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"]
    @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"] = BitmapSprite.new(@mapWidth, @mapHeigth, @viewportMap)
    @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].x = @spritesMap["map"].x
    @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].y = @spritesMap["map"].y
    @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].visible = @mode == 4
    @spritesMap["roaming#{icon_index}"].z = 20
  end
 

Jangajinx

An Overly Ambitious Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Posts
213
Was checking out the pokemon in the pokedex. Any reason for this error or any help?

Ruby:
[Pokémon Essentials version 21.1]
[v21.1 Hotfixes 1.0.5]

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `[]' for nil:NilClass

Backtrace:
[Arcky's Region Map] 003_RegionMap_Pokedex.rb:31:in `pbStartScene'
[Pokedex Data Page] [001] Page Setup.rb:72:in `pbStartScene'
296:UI_Pokedex_Entry:583:in `pbStartScreen'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:879:in `pbDexEntry'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1281:in `block (2 levels) in pbPokedex'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1257:in `loop'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1257:in `block in pbPokedex'
079:MessageConfig:721:in `pbActivateWindow'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1256:in `pbPokedex'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1299:in `pbStartScreen'
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Was checking out the pokemon in the pokedex. Any reason for this error or any help?

Ruby:
[Pokémon Essentials version 21.1]
[v21.1 Hotfixes 1.0.5]

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `[]' for nil:NilClass

Backtrace:
[Arcky's Region Map] 003_RegionMap_Pokedex.rb:31:in `pbStartScene'
[Pokedex Data Page] [001] Page Setup.rb:72:in `pbStartScene'
296:UI_Pokedex_Entry:583:in `pbStartScreen'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:879:in `pbDexEntry'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1281:in `block (2 levels) in pbPokedex'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1257:in `loop'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1257:in `block in pbPokedex'
079:MessageConfig:721:in `pbActivateWindow'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1256:in `pbPokedex'
295:UI_Pokedex_Main:1299:in `pbStartScreen'
Are you opening the pokedex from a map that has no location defined on the region map?
 

Jangajinx

An Overly Ambitious Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Posts
213
Honestly unsure. I have the default maps from essentials at the moment and it seems to appear only when the modular pokedex switch is on and works fine when it is off.
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Honestly unsure. I have the default maps from essentials at the moment and it seems to appear only when the modular pokedex switch is on and works fine when it is off.
that's really strange, the line the error referse to is the one that gets the player's position on the region map and in your case it seems to be not defined.
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
let's try this fix: open the 003_RegionMap_Pokedex.rb file and search for the line where it says
Original Line:
playerpos = (map_metadata) ? map_metadata.town_map_position : nil
and replace it with this line:
NewLine:
playerpos = map_metadata && map_metadata.town_map_position ? map_metadata.town_map_position : [0, 0, 0]
Let me know if this fixed it for you
 

Jangajinx

An Overly Ambitious Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Posts
213
let's try this fix: open the 003_RegionMap_Pokedex.rb file and search for the line where it says
Original Line:
playerpos = (map_metadata) ? map_metadata.town_map_position : nil
and replace it with this line:
NewLine:
playerpos = map_metadata && map_metadata.town_map_position ? map_metadata.town_map_position : [0, 0, 0]
Let me know if this fixed it for you
Works like a charm now! Thank you very much! Much love! Thanks for the amazing plugin. Always wanted the ability to have bigger maps with more functions.
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Works like a charm now! Thank you very much! Much love! Thanks for the amazing plugin. Always wanted the ability to have bigger maps with more functions.
Really happy to hear that and no problem at all. Glad you like this plugin :D
 

Arcky

Arcky's Region Map Developer
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2022
Posts
210
Arcky updated Arcky's Region Map with a new update entry:

v1.3.2: Bug fixes and improvements

Improvements:
  • When changing Quests on a same location, the boxes will now changes more smoothly.
Bug fixes:
  • Fixed an issue when opening the Region Map from a Game Map that has no Town Map Location defined in the town_map.txt PBS. This is fixed for the quest map as well.
  • Fixed an issue when viewing the Area of a Species from a Game Map that has no Town Map Location defined in the town_map.txt PBS.
New...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

Jangajinx

An Overly Ambitious Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Posts
213
Recently updated. Any idea what might be the cause of this? Thanks for the assist.

1700862491794.png
 
Back
Top