• Hi, Guest!
    Some images might be missing as we move away from using embedded images, sorry for the mess!
    From now on, you'll be required to use a third party to host images. You can learn how to add images here, and if your thread is missing images you can request them here.
    Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly!
Modern Quest System + UI

Resource Modern Quest System + UI 1.1.0

CelestialFearow

Venipede User
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2020
Posts
196
Hello! When I check a quest, how can I do to show a sprite on the quest details page? In my game all of the npcs have pss icons, so how can I do to add something like that?
 

ThatWelshOne_

Champion
Member

gengardelaisla93

Novice
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2023
Posts
11
Hello, I've Pokemon Essential v20.1, but I can't see this in my Pokégear. I paste this code inside: UI_Pokegear

Ruby:
MenuHandlers.add(:pause_pokegear, :quests, {
  "name"      =>  _INTL("Quests"),
  "icon_name" => "quests",
  "order"     => 50,
  "condition" => proc { next hasAnyQuests? },
  "effect"    => proc { |menu|
    pbPlayDecisionSE
    pbFadeOutIn {
      scene = QuestList_Scene.new
      screen = QuestList_Screen.new(scene)
      screen.pbStartScreen
    }
    next false
  }
})
 

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
614
Hello, I've Pokemon Essential v20.1, but I can't see this in my Pokégear. I paste this code inside: UI_Pokegear

Ruby:
MenuHandlers.add(:pause_pokegear, :quests, {
  "name"      =>  _INTL("Quests"),
  "icon_name" => "quests",
  "order"     => 50,
  "condition" => proc { next hasAnyQuests? },
  "effect"    => proc { |menu|
    pbPlayDecisionSE
    pbFadeOutIn {
      scene = QuestList_Scene.new
      screen = QuestList_Screen.new(scene)
      screen.pbStartScreen
    }
    next false
  }
})
Do you have given the player (you in this case) any quest? The condition will keep it from appearing if there is no quest.
 

gengardelaisla93

Novice
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2023
Posts
11
Do you have given the player (you in this case) any quest? The condition will keep it from appearing if there is no quest.
I follow the indications, but maybe i can't create a quest.
I see that: in 004_Quest_data.rb
Ruby:
module QuestModule
 
  # You don't actually need to add any information, but the respective fields in the UI will be blank or "???"
  # I included this here mostly as an example of what not to do, but also to show it's a thing that exists
  Quest0 = {
 
  }
 
  # Here's the simplest example of a single-stage quest with everything specified
  Quest1 = {
    :ID => "1",
    :Name => "Introductions",
    :QuestGiver => "Little Boy",
    :Stage1 => "Look for clues.",
    :Location1 => "Lappet Town",
    :QuestDescription => "Some wild Pokémon stole a little boy's favourite toy. Find those troublemakers and help him get it back.",
    :RewardString => "Something shiny!"
  }
 
  # Here's an extension of the above that includes multiple stages
  Quest2 = {
    :ID => "2",
    :Name => "Introductions",
    :QuestGiver => "Little Boy",
    :Stage1 => "Look for clues.",
    :Stage2 => "Follow the trail.",
    :Stage3 => "Catch the troublemakers!",
    :Location1 => "Lappet Town",
    :Location2 => "Viridian Forest",
    :Location3 => "Route 3",
    :StageLabel1 => "1",
    :StageLabel2 => "2",
    :QuestDescription => "Some wild Pokémon stole a little boy's favourite toy. Find those troublemakers and help him get it back.",
    :RewardString => "Something shiny!"
  }
 
  # Here's an example of a quest with lots of stages that also doesn't have a stage location defined for every stage
  Quest3 = {
    :ID => "3",
    :Name => "Last-minute chores",
    :QuestGiver => "Grandma",
    :Stage1 => "A",
    :Stage2 => "B",
    :Stage3 => "C",
    :Stage4 => "D",
    :Stage5 => "E",
    :Stage6 => "F",
    :Stage7 => "G",
    :Stage8 => "H",
    :Stage9 => "I",
    :Stage10 => "J",
    :Stage11 => "K",
    :Stage12 => "L",
    :Location1 => "nil",
    :Location2 => "nil",
    :Location3 => "Dewford Town",
    :QuestDescription => "Isn't the alphabet longer than this?",
    :RewardString => "Chicken soup!"
  }
 
  # Here's an example of not defining the quest giver and reward text
  Quest4 = {
    :ID => "4",
    :Name => "A new beginning",
    :QuestGiver => "nil",
    :Stage1 => "Turning over a new leaf... literally!",
    :Stage2 => "Help your neighbours.",
    :Location1 => "Milky Way",
    :Location2 => "nil",
    :QuestDescription => "You crash landed on an alien planet. There are other humans here and they look hungry...",
    :RewardString => "nil"
  }
 
  # Other random examples you can look at if you want to fill out the UI and check out the page scrolling
  Quest5 = {
    :ID => "5",
    :Name => "All of my friends",
    :QuestGiver => "Barry",
    :Stage1 => "Meet your friends near Acuity Lake.",
    :QuestDescription => "Barry told me that he saw something cool at Acuity Lake and that I should go see. I hope it's not another trick.",
    :RewardString => "You win nothing for giving in to peer pressure."
  }
 
  Quest6 = {
    :ID => "6",
    :Name => "The journey begins",
    :QuestGiver => "Professor Oak",
    :Stage1 => "Deliver the parcel to the Pokémon Mart in Viridian City.",
    :Stage2 => "Return to the Professor.",
    :Location1 => "Viridian City",
    :Location2 => "nil",
    :QuestDescription => "The Professor has entrusted me with an important delivery for the Viridian City Pokémon Mart. This is my first task, best not mess it up!",
    :RewardString => "nil"
  }
 
  Quest7 = {
    :ID => "7",
    :Name => "Close encounters of the... first kind?",
    :QuestGiver => "nil",
    :Stage1 => "Make contact with the strange creatures.",
    :Location1 => "Rock Tunnel",
    :QuestDescription => "A sudden burst of light, and then...! What are you?",
    :RewardString => "A possible probing."
  }
 
  Quest8 = {
    :ID => "8",
    :Name => "These boots were made for walking",
    :QuestGiver => "Musician #1",
    :Stage1 => "Listen to the musician's, uhh, music.",
    :Stage2 => "Find the source of the power outage.",
    :Location1 => "nil",
    :Location2 => "Celadon City Sewers",
    :QuestDescription => "A musician was feeling down because he thinks no one likes his music. I should help him drum up some business."
  }
 
  Quest9 = {
    :ID => "9",
    :Name => "Got any grapes?",
    :QuestGiver => "Duck",
    :Stage1 => "Listen to The Duck Song.",
    :Stage2 => "Try not to sing it all day.",
    :Location1 => "YouTube",
    :QuestDescription => "Let's try to revive old memes by listening to this funny song about a duck wanting grapes.",
    :RewardString => "A loss of braincells. Hurray!"
  }
 
  Quest10 = {
    :ID => "10",
    :Name => "Singing in the rain",
    :QuestGiver => "Some old dude",
    :Stage1 => "I've run out of things to write.",
    :Stage2 => "If you're reading this, I hope you have a great day!",
    :Location1 => "Somewhere prone to rain?",
    :QuestDescription => "Whatever you want it to be.",
    :RewardString => "Wet clothes."
  }
 
  Quest11 = {
    :ID => "11",
    :Name => "When is this list going to end?",
    :QuestGiver => "Me",
    :Stage1 => "When IS this list going to end?",
    :Stage2 => "123",
    :Stage3 => "456",
    :Stage4 => "789",
    :QuestDescription => "I'm losing my sanity.",
    :RewardString => "nil"
  }
 
  Quest12 = {
    :ID => "12",
    :Name => "The laaast melon",
    :QuestGiver => "Some stupid dodo",
    :Stage1 => "Fight for the last of the food.",
    :Stage2 => "Don't die.",
    :Location1 => "A volcano/cliff thing?",
    :Location2 => "Good advice for life.",
    :QuestDescription => "Tea and biscuits, anyone?",
    :RewardString => "Food, glorious food!"
  }

end
 

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
614
I think the condition doesn't check if there are quests created or not, but if you have given them on gameplay. If you have never activated a single quest during gameplay, the quest menu will not appear.
 

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
614
You don't have to modify any file to activate a quest. You have to create an event and call a command that activates it. In the Overview of this plugin there is a section literally called "How to use" with a list of commands so you can activate quest, change the active missions, and mark them as completed or failed. There's even detailed instructions on how to use the plugin in the meta file.
 

hostman

Trainer
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2023
Posts
70
I have a question, in the mission interface, there is no marker to show you which mission you are on. Could someone tell me what part of the code I should modify to add that marker?
 

gengardelaisla93

Novice
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2023
Posts
11
You don't have to modify any file to activate a quest. You have to create an event and call a command that activates it. In the Overview of this plugin there is a section literally called "How to use" with a list of commands so you can activate quest, change the active missions, and mark them as completed or failed. There's even detailed instructions on how to use the plugin in the meta file.
I'm following the instructions but I see that..
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 14.52.12.png
    Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 14.52.12.png
    50.8 KB · Views: 21

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
614
i'm writing: activateQuest(Quest1, colorQuest("purple"), true) in an event, but it doesen't work.
Where did you even get that code from? The instructions clearly say to use activateQuest(quest) to activate a quest, with just 1 thing inside, not 3. Your first error is even telling you that you have to write :Quest1 instead of just 1. Why you didn't try to do it confuses me.
 

gengardelaisla93

Novice
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2023
Posts
11
Where did you even get that code from? The instructions clearly say to use activateQuest(quest) to activate a quest, with just 1 thing inside, not 3. Your first error is even telling you that you have to write :Quest1 instead of just 1. Why you didn't try to do it confuses me.
Okay, if i do activateQuest(Quest1), i've this problem
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 16.40.42.png
    Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 16.40.42.png
    160.8 KB · Views: 24
  • Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 16.41.23.png
    Screenshot 2024-02-11 alle 16.41.23.png
    65.7 KB · Views: 23

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
614
Dude, I literally wrote ":Quest1". The error was literally saying "The 'quest' argument should be a symbol, e.g. ':Quest1'." Why do you write it without the ":"?
 
Back
Top