• Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly! You can learn how to add images to your posts here.
Modern Quest System + UI

Resource Modern Quest System + UI 1.1.0

bjorn__92

Rookie
Member
Joined
May 8, 2020
Posts
7
Yes, certainly. I'm not familiar with that resource, but after a quick look, I think you'll need to open Plugins/Voltseon's Pause Menu/005_VoltseonMenu_Entries.rb and paste this block of code at the bottom of that script:
Ruby:
Expand Collapse Copy
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Entry for MQS
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
class MenuEntryQuests < MenuEntry
    def initialize
        @icon = "menuDebug"
        @name = "Quests"
    end

    def selected(menu)
        pbFadeOutIn {
          pbViewQuests
        }
    end

    def selectable?; return hasAnyQuests?; end
end
I think you'll also need to open 001_VoltseonMenu_Config.rb and add "MenuEntryQuests" into the MENU_ENTRIES array starting around line 24.
There might be other things you need to change, but see what happens with these changes first.
Does this still work with volseon pause menu version V20.1 because 005_VoltseonMenu_Entries.rb doesn't excist in the folder
 

LinKazamine

Champion
Member
Joined
May 24, 2023
Posts
674
Does this still work with volseon pause menu version V20.1 because 005_VoltseonMenu_Entries.rb doesn't excist in the folder
Voltseon's pause menu uses the handlers for the default menu now, that is why that file doesn't exist anymore.
 

CrimsonTy

Just some guy
Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Posts
133
I'm using the v20.1 version, and for some reason the text is higher than the UI
image.png
 

ThatWelshOne_

Champion
Member
I'm using the v20.1 version, and for some reason the text is higher than the UI
image.png
Sorry for the slow reply. Not been as active here since the relaunch.

From memory, v21 changed some of the default text positions, so if you're on an older version, you'll need to download the appropriate version of this resource. You can find a link to v20 and v19 downloads on the Overview page.
 

blazeSSS

Rookie
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2024
Posts
2
when i put this
module QuestModule
:Quest1 ={
:ID => "1",
:Name => "Introductions",
:QuestGiver => "Guy",
:Stage1 => "Go to route 1.",
:Location1 => "players house",
:QuestDescription => "go to route 1 quickly.",
:RewardString => "Something shiny!"
}
i get an error
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
547
when i put this
module QuestModule
:Quest1 ={
:ID => "1",
:Name => "Introductions",
:QuestGiver => "Guy",
:Stage1 => "Go to route 1.",
:Location1 => "players house",
:QuestDescription => "go to route 1 quickly.",
:RewardString => "Something shiny!"
}
i get an error
Can you include the error you see?
 

blazeSSS

Rookie
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2024
Posts
2
[Pokémon Essentials version 21.1]

Error in Plugin: [Modern Quest System + UI]
Exception: SyntaxError
Message: [Modern Quest System + UI] 004_Quest_Data.rb:2: syntax error, unexpected '=', expecting `end'
:Quest1 ={
^


Backtrace:
Section008:635:in `eval'
Section008:635:in `block (2 levels) in runPlugins'
Section008:625:in `each'
Section008:625:in `block in runPlugins'
Section008:616:in `each'
Section008:616:in `runPlugins'
Section401:28:in `mainFunctionDebug'
Section401:20:in `mainFunction'
Section401:45:in `block in <main>'
Section401:44:in `loop'
 

rafahbit

Trainer
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2020
Posts
53
I tried to add a new page before the quest that showed another text, giving more information about the quest after it was completed, I tried to do this to make the main quests tell the story all the time, so the player doesn't get lost, but unfortunately I tried a few times and didn't succeed, so this is just a suggestion :D
 

The6thGym

Rookie
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2024
Posts
4
I downloaded this plugin, pasted the script into UI_PauseMenu, started a new file and I can't get the quest page to show in the menu. I also downloaded the encounters plug in and it works fine. Not sure what I am doing wrong.
 

Jukes

Cooltrainer
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2023
Posts
102
Attempting to use this one v20.1 getting this error
[Pokémon Essentials version 20.1]
[v20.1 Hotfixes 1.0.7]

Script error in event 12 (coords 21,15), map 22 (South Town)
Exception: NameError
Message: uninitialized constant Interpreter::Quest1

***Full script:
activateQuest(Quest1)

Backtrace:
(eval):1:in `execute_script'
Interpreter:143:in `eval'
Interpreter:143:in `execute_script'
Interpreter_Commands:1112:in `command_355'
Interpreter_Commands:116:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:133:in `block in update'
Interpreter:90:in `loop'
Interpreter:90:in `update'
Scene_Map:160:in `block in update'
Scene_Map:159:in `loop'





set a script up like this

activateQuest(Quest1)


Am i doing something wrong?
 
Back
Top