• Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly! You can learn how to add images to your posts here.

(Important) What makes some of the fangames get C&D'd and what makes some of the other avoid it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erenussocrates

Rookie
I'm an aspiring pokemon fangame developer myself, and there has been one very essential question that had always been eating away at the corner of my mind, and if we can somehow answer or find somewhat of a common denominator that answers this kinda question, I think everyone like me would be saved a lot of trouble, wasted efforts and terrible heartaches in the future.

So I've noticed that some of the highly regarded pokemon fangames are getting taken down by nintendo -like Pokemon Uranium, Pixelmon mod (even though it's a mod and not a game)-, while some of the other highly regarded and equally famous works are left untouched, even after a long time -like Pokemon Reborn, Pokemon Omicron, etc.-

So naturally that makes me wonder, what really makes some of them survive and the others not? Is there really a definitive answer to this? Is it really all because of "slipping under the radar" or something like that, because I highly doubt it. I'm 99% sure that nintendo knows everything that is going on in pokemon fan community, and they know every publicly announced ongoing fan project. So what makes some of them pass, really? Do anyone have any idea?

I have one friend who is doing freelancer marketing, and he admitted that he is not an expert on law, but still he shared an opinion about how it could be working. What he said was basically "you are fine if you are not living in a country that nintendo doesn't have a branch". After reading through several articles it was also kind of insuniated to me in that way, but it sounds so dumb that I'm taking my own idea with a grain of salt.

So you see this list: https://www.nintendo.com/countryselector