• Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly! You can learn how to add images to your posts here.
  • Eevee Expo's webhost has been having technical issues since Nov. 20th and you might be unable to connect to our site. Staff are also facing issues connecting, so please send a DM to Cat on-site or through Discord directly for faster service!
Event Indicators

Resource Event Indicators 1.1.1

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
wrigty12 submitted a new resource:

Event Indicators - Add graphics above NPCs (like quest indicators)

A lot of games have icons and such above NPCs when it has a special interaction. While there are some workarounds to add these in RPGMaker/Pokemon Essentials, they can be clunky. This plugin adds the ability to have graphics appear above an event to add these types of icons.

Features
  • Add any graphic you can imagine above an event. This can be quest indicators, persistent emojis, "I can talk to you" callouts, you name it.
  • Each indicator is added to an event using a...

Read more about this resource...
 

Atlat

Novice
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2023
Posts
30
This is a resource I've been looking for! I'm assuming you made it as event page reliant because only the first comment of that variety will show on the page, right? Because while adding a conditional parameter for whether it shows or now was simple, having it show different graphics depnding on said conditional isn't.
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
This is a resource I've been looking for! I'm assuming you made it as event page reliant because only the first comment of that variety will show on the page, right? Because while adding a conditional parameter for whether it shows or now was simple, having it show different graphics depnding on said conditional isn't.
Having the definition be a Comment is an easy way for something within an event "run" without running the event. The original suggestion was having something in the name be the definition, but then it limits it to one indicator for the entire event. Comments per page add a lot more flexibility.
 

Ryuushedo

Developer of Pokemon Lost World
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2023
Posts
24
Hmm that looks correct. I never saw this crash when testing though, but I did see a few others that I fixed.

Did you change the settings for the plugin at all? Specifically the x and y adjustment ones?
nope, i just installed the plugin and try to test it
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
nope, i just installed the plugin and try to test it
I guess I can just keep adding nil checks.

Can you open the 001_Script file in the plugin, and edit lines 104 and 105...

Ruby:
Expand Collapse Copy
            @x_adj += params[1][0]
            @y_adj += params[1][1]

to look like this...


Code:
Expand Collapse Copy
            @x_adj += params[1][0] if params[1] && params[1][0] && params[1][0].is_a?(Integer)
            @y_adj += params[1][1] if params[1] && params[1][1] && params[1][1].is_a?(Integer)
 

Ryuushedo

Developer of Pokemon Lost World
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2023
Posts
24
okay it still same but when i try to new game and put the event outside the house its working perfectly fine
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
okay it still same but when i try to new game and put the event outside the house its working perfectly fine
That's.... Very weird. Before line 104, can you add a new line
Ruby:
Expand Collapse Copy
echoln params
and when it crashes, show me what the console says?
 

Atlat

Novice
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2023
Posts
30
This could be related to the above issue. For some reason, when trying to read lines like quest, it'll also read lines below that even if there are no comment lines. If there are none, the parameters become the lines of code beneath it. In that third image for example, nono would be the parameter for the x/y shift.
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
This could be related to the above issue. For some reason, when trying to read lines like quest, it'll also read lines below that even if there are no comment lines. If there are none, the parameters become the lines of code beneath it. In that third image for example, nono would be the parameter for the x/y shift.
Aha I think I know why. I'm using a command that is in vanilla essentials to grab the comment, and I never explored it more than a few cases. Interesting that that is how it works.

I'm probably going to redo how you can define x, y values then. I already have it in mind and should be a quick update later tonight.
 

AenaonDogsky

Arbiter of Doggos
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Posts
521
Aha I think I know why. I'm using a command that is in vanilla essentials to grab the comment, and I never explored it more than a few cases. Interesting that that is how it works.

I'm probably going to redo how you can define x, y values then. I already have it in mind and should be a quick update later tonight.
I just wanna take a moment to thank you for your latest plugins in general. Many of the features I had implemented, that I had to work around manually (e.g. in this case manually putting indicators above event graphics) have just appeared as plugins that you've made. Thanks a lot for your work. I'll be waiting for the new update.
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
wrigty12 updated Event Indicators with a new update entry:

1.1 - X and Y adjustment rework

BEFORE UPDATING ANY FILES: If you have made any edits to 001_Script for settings or indication definitions, make sure to make a backup of the file before updating the plugin. If you copy over files to update, it will overwrite your changes.

Change Log
  • 🛠️Reworked how you add x and y adjustments in the Comment command. Instructions have been updated in 001_Script.
  • ⭐New feature: X and y adjustments for definitions. Added...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

drawntoast

Cooltrainer
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Posts
207
This script is very helpful but I've been getting a strange error when I transfer screens to a map with an event indicator. I followed the instructions on the script and didn't edit it.

It's a difficult issue because it only affects some events. Other times I can move between maps and it works fine. I'm at a total loss.

[Pokémon Essentials version 21.1]
[v21.1 Hotfixes 1.0.9]

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `id' for nil:NilClass

Backtrace:
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:145:in `update'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:200:in `block in update'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:198:in `each'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:151:in `block in updateSpritesets'
Scene_Map:149:in `each'
Scene_Map:149:in `updateSpritesets'
Scene_Map:176:in `update'
[Following Pokemon EX] Refresh.rb:178:in `update'
Scene_Map:238:in `block in main'
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
wrigty12 updated Event Indicators with a new update entry:

1.1.1 - Split out Settings & hopeful crash fix

BEFORE UPDATING ANY FILES: If you have made any edits to 001_Script for settings or indication definitions, make sure to make a backup of the file before updating the plugin. If you copy over files to update, it will overwrite your changes.

Change Log
  • IMPORTANT: I've split out Settings from the 001_Script file. They are now in their own 000_Settings file. Please add all of your...

Read the rest of this update entry...
 

wrigty12

Tester-Coder Hybrid
Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Posts
577
This script is very helpful but I've been getting a strange error when I transfer screens to a map with an event indicator. I followed the instructions on the script and didn't edit it.

It's a difficult issue because it only affects some events. Other times I can move between maps and it works fine. I'm at a total loss.

[Pokémon Essentials version 21.1]
[v21.1 Hotfixes 1.0.9]

Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `id' for nil:NilClass

Backtrace:
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:145:in `update'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:200:in `block in update'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:198:in `each'
[Event Indicators] 001_Script.rb:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:151:in `block in updateSpritesets'
Scene_Map:149:in `each'
Scene_Map:149:in `updateSpritesets'
Scene_Map:176:in `update'
[Following Pokemon EX] Refresh.rb:178:in `update'
Scene_Map:238:in `block in main'
I wasn't able to reproduce the issue myself, but I made a change that hopefully prevents it.
 
Back
Top