• Do not use Discord to host any images you post, these links expire quickly! You can learn how to add images to your posts here.

Beginner starting with a big project

thatguythathasnolife

Rookie
So, I'm a beginner at making fangames, I've been playing them for about 6 years though and am a huge fan. I want to start making something like those that I've loved and made a lasting impression on me (Reborn, rejuvenation, insurgence, desolation, more recently pathways) but with my own touch. I know that those projects were massive undertakings and its just me and my friend working on our project but I think I have what it takes, I'm familiar with programming, but am new to the graphic element. Is this a stupid idea? I kind of wanted to try to get up to the second of eight gyms then release a demo, I started last week and have completed the first town, the main cast, the storyboard, programmed a starter quiz type deal. Am I on the right track? I've been extremely driven but also I feel like it can be frustrating (I spent 3 hours on a cutscene bug yesterday).

Last edited by a moderator:

nomists

Novice
Welcome! I am late to the party responding to this one, but figured a month late is better than never. As someone who has made games off and on for a while now, the idea does not sound infeasible necessarily. However, there are some questions that I think might help with assessing what you're doing:

• How much original content are you yourself going to make for the game instead of ripping from elsehwere? The more custom sprites, GUIs, and code you add, the longer it will take. With programming (I have experience coding too), Pokémon Essential's build in Ruby can be especially daunting just because it is unwieldly to search up everything that is being referenced everywhere. Plus, other RPG XP plugins don't really work with Pokémon Essentials.